#16-3130 2016 WCAR Tickit Icon R!By Lorie Almon, Gerald L. Maatman, Jr., and Amanda Sonneborn

Back by popular demand, our Annual Workplace Class Action Litigation Report Webinar is on Monday, February 1, 2016. Click here to register and attend. It’s free!

Across all varieties of workplace litigation, class action dynamics increasingly have been shaped and influenced by recent rulings in the U.S. Supreme Court. This past year the Supreme Court issued several key decisions on complex employment litigation issues and accepted more cases for review that are posed for rulings this coming year. Some decisions may be viewed as hostile to the expansive use of Rule 23, while others are hospitable and strengthen the availability of class actions against employers.

For an interactive analysis of 2015 decisions and emerging trends, please join us for our annual webinar offered in conjunction with the publication of our 12th Annual Workplace Class Action Litigation Report.  The Report’s author, Gerald L. Maatman, Jr., along with Lorie Almon, chair of our wage & hour group, and Amanda Sonneborn of our ERISA class action group, will cover a changed national landscape in workplace class action litigation.

In our accompanying webinar, highlights from the Report will outline a number of key trends for employers in 2016, including:

  • The Supreme Court’s pro-worker and pro-business rulings through which employers must carefully thread the needle
  • The top 10 employment-related class action settlements that reached an all-time high in 2015 and the federal and state court rulings that were more favorable for the plaintiffs’ bar in employment-related cases in 2015
  • What employers can expect as wage & hour litigation, specifically FLSA filings, rose for the sixth straight year to a new record high and new scrutiny of independent contractor and joint employment relationships are expected to drive this number even higher in 2016
  • The Department of Labor and Equal Employment Opportunity Commission’s continued aggressive litigation approaches in 2015 and rebound from the record low aggregate settlement recoveries of 2014, showing employers the agencies focus on “big impact” lawsuits

The date and time of the webinar is February 1, 2016:

1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Central Time

11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Mountain Time

10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time

Speakers: Lorie Almon, Gerald L. Maatman, Jr., and Amanda Sonneborn